Make your own free website on Tripod.com
Home School Laws
Upstate Christian Homeschoolers
| Home | Look what our kids did! | Favorite Sites | Home School Laws | Photo Page | New Member Info

From HSLDA's website. For further info, go to http://www.hslda.org/
 
Home School Legal Defense Association  HOME SCHOOL LEGAL DEFENSE ASSOCIATION


STATE LAWS
South Carolina
South Carolina
HOME | LAWS | ORGANIZATIONS | CASES | LEGISLATION | HEADLINES


Summary


Below is brief summary of the homeschooling law in South Carolina. For a detailed analysis of homeschooling in South Carolina, see:
South CarolinaA Legal Analysis
(Requires Adobe Acrobat Reader)

Compulsory School Age
"five years of age before September first until . . . seventeenth birthday or" graduation from high school; five-year-olds may be excused from kindergarten with submission of written notice to the school district

South Carolina Legal Home Schooling Options:  1  2  3  


Option: 1
Option: 2
Option: 3
Legal Option:
Establish and operate a home school as approved by the local school board
Establish and operate a home school under the membership auspices of the South Carolina Association of Independent Home Schools (SCAIHS)
Establish and operate a home school under the membership auspices of an association for home schools with no fewer than fifty members
Attendance:
180 days per year, 4 hours per day
180 days per year
180 days per year
Subjects:
Reading, writing, math, science, and social studies; also composition and literature in grades 7-12
Reading, writing, math, science, and social studies; also composition and literature in grades 7-12
Reading, writing, math, science, and social studies; also composition and literature in grades 7-12
Qualifications:
High school diploma or GED or a baccalaureate degree
High school diploma or GED
High school diploma or GED
Notice:
None
None
None
Recordkeeping:
Maintain evidence of regular instruction including a record of subjects taught, activities in which the student and parent engage, a portfolio of the childs work, and a record of academic evaluations, with a semiannual progress report
None required by statute; SCAIHS requires some recordkeeping
Maintain evidence of regular instruction including a record of subjects taught, activities in which the student and parent engage, and a portfolio of the childs work, with a semiannual progress report
Testing:
Participate in the annual statewide testing program and the Basic Skills Assessment Program
None required by statute; SCAIHS has certain testing requirements
None

Home School Legal Defense Association  HOME SCHOOL LEGAL DEFENSE ASSOCIATION


STATE LAWS
North Carolina
North Carolina
HOME | LAWS | ORGANIZATIONS | CASES | LEGISLATION | HEADLINES


Summary


Below is brief summary of the homeschooling law in North Carolina. For a detailed analysis of homeschooling in North Carolina, see:
North CarolinaA Legal Analysis
(Requires Adobe Acrobat Reader)

Compulsory School Age
"between the ages of seven and 16 years"

North Carolina Legal Home Schooling Options:  1  


Option: 1
Legal Option:
Establish and operate a home school
Attendance:
At least nine calendar months per year, excluding reasonable holidays and vacations
Subjects:
None, but annual standardized tests must cover English grammar, reading, spelling, and mathematics
Qualifications:
High school diploma or GED
Notice:
File notice of intent with the state division of non-public education upon starting home school
Recordkeeping:
Maintain attendance and immunization records and results of standardized tests
Testing:
Administer an annual standardized test measuring achievement in English grammar, reading, spelling, and mathematics, the results of which must be available for inspection